I See Crazy Patterns

Sewing as illness

Minnie Dress

Oh no. At one of the later Sewing Circles, as Director was about to bugger off to Leeds, leaving the sinking ship, I sat with a pile of red/white polka dot cotton and wondered what to do with it.

We mulled over what the perfect dress might be like. With the polka dots. Short sleeves. Empire line. White collar perhaps. Director kindly let me borrow this gorgeous pattern, Simplicity 5961 (vintage, not to be confused with the currently-in-print apron pattern):

simplicity5961

 

It was hard to see how this one could go wrong. The result looked oddly familiar:

minniemouse_(2)[1]

minniemouse2_(2)

Oh bloody hell.

minniemouse

05/08/2009 - Posted by | Sewing

10 Comments »

  1. OH GOD! I do love it – but you are right, I wouldn’t be brave enough to wear it – except with black tights and yellow shoes to a fancy dress party!

    Ah yes – the apron pattern – my eBay search for ‘Simplicity 5961’ yielded no end of those!

    Comment by The Director | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  2. I actually really love it though…why is the world so cruel?! Surely everyone should be wearing this shite?

    Comment by natalieannjohnson | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  3. I know! The collar looks good too. Maybe we should be like Adam Ant “Ridicule is nothing to be scared of”.

    Comment by The Director | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  4. I’ve got too conservative lately. I need to get a bit of the shamelessness back. Want to wear it! Definitely need a copy of that pattern; give us a shout if you see it anywhere!

    Comment by natalieannjohnson | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  5. A good excuse to have a ‘Come as a cartoon character’ party though!

    Comment by The Director | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  6. Add a photo to the Vintage Sewing Patterns Wiki! http://vintagepatterns.wikia.com/wiki/Simplicity_5961

    Comment by The Director | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  7. Just done that…are you adding yours? Think I’ll be making use of that site quite a lot!

    But I want to wear it in real life!!! :***(

    Comment by natalieannjohnson | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  8. The collar is amazing – was it difficult?

    Comment by The Director | 05/08/2009 | Reply

    • Thank you. Not really. Though the six bits, when separated, don’t look as though they will work. I think if you can do that last dress collar/placket combo then you will find it no problem at all!

      Comment by natalieannjohnson | 05/08/2009 | Reply

  9. […] I had to make it again. Research revealed that I actually can’t wear that <a href=”https://natalieannjohnson.wordpress.com/2009/08/05/minnie-dress/”>Minnie Dress</a>, so I went to Walthamstow Market and picked up a yard of orange cotton and a yard of […]

    Pingback by Pretty Poly? « I See Crazy Patterns | 17/08/2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

